Water in the dust bowl: day 9

image

This Morning’s Run

 

If I count my steps

one,two,

if I count them as I’m running

I will know how far it is

(how far it is )

to home.

 

The green grass grows

one, two,

the green grass grows all around me

and the dust from the path

kicks up behind

kicks up behind my heels.

 

I have stopped

one, two,

I have stopped my love, my yearning

I have stopped the wait

(stopped the wait)

the waiting for the rain.

 

The sun shines bright

One, two,

shines bright between the low boughs

but my cheek has caught

(but my cheek has caught)

a morsel of heavens water.

 

My body caught

one, two,

my body catches the small drops

and I am dancing amongst the green

for the rain has finally come.

 

Yes, the rain has finally come.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

