I feel like oceans are the eyes of the earth. You know how people always say that the eyes are the windows to the soul… there might be something to that and if eyes are what we say, then seas  are certainly the eyes of the earth. They are deep and blue and green and brown and mysterious. I think some traits of the sea are in each of us. Have you ever just felt so wild and free that you actually break into laughter? Sometimes it’s even when you are all by yourself. The oceans, they do that. A swell of joy just heaves from their depths and then they are bursting, turning white and breaking into the rushing laughter. Even at their very depths they declare the glory of God, they cannot keep silent!

Oh and they get SO angry sometimes. They get so angry that they can’t help it and their perfect little gurgles of laughter and joy becomes massive waves which rage as high as a wall, they swallow up things that float and terrify even the bravest of men. Their calming motherly croons become the crashes and bangs of an upset child in the kitchen. It’s even documented that Leviathans and things living in the sea swallow men whole at the command of God, and isn’t it so with us sometimes. Sometimes we have to be the sea which justly swallows to make a person see — I have no gift in this area… but some of you must be leviathans. Then some childish storms only Jesus was able to calm, storms so vast that even men who made their living on the water were terrified. I’m the child, the unjust anger that only Jesus can calm sometimes. Like the water a swell myself as big as I can go, so big I can’t even see around me, and I make myself so high that I forget to be gentle with those I have put below me.

There are so many many things of and in the sea that we living around it have absolutely no inkling about I don’t even think the ocean or the creatures in it knows what all it holds… and it’s funny because I think we are all pretty much the same about that. I don’t think that even we can see our whole selves most of the time, and I know I don’t know all of myself all so well. Much less those around us. Its like the water — if the oceans are the eyes, everyone living around you can’t just look at you and know you, or even know the thoughts like plankton (this post) that swim around in your head all day long. Here we are, billions of people looking at each other trying to figure out and categorize everyone around us, and we can hardly even begin to know ourselves at all. I didn’t even know I was thinking about this before I started writing it, but instantly I think I know a little bit more about myself.

How strange is it then, that we all assume to know so much about everyone. Ask a surfer if he knows the ocean, how it moves, all of its moods, he’ll tell you he does, he’s been surfing for some 25 years now. But the truth is, all the surfer knows is how the waves will respond to such and such weather. Ask a marine biologist the same question and she’ll respond that she knows the ocean as well as anyone could, she’ll tell you about some of the organisms and micro organisms that live this way and that, how the sand is here and there, and still she couldn’t tell you that she knows it all that much compared to what she doesn’t know even if she dedicated a lifetime to it — which she intends to do. And if people look at our globe from worlds away they see the ocean as just blue, it could be anything at all, maybe even land. Who am I to tell someone who they are, and how they’ll be tomorrow when I think I still see myself from worlds away. Who knows what I am or you are.

I think of a time when I was young (like age 6 young) and I took a astronomy class. The teacher asked a question that none of us knew the answer to except for one little boy who declared “The LORD knows” as southern as you could get… and that’s what I think when I think about people, and depth, and the sea… we’re all made for a purpose, we are made of something special, and we are ever changing, ever growing, ever learning… But when people see the sea they are never disgusted, and it’s been changing and moving and growing for some thousands of years, but when you look at it most people are taken aback in wonder… and thats how I believe that God has it for all of us. The sea does as it is bid by God, and when it gets angry it is calmed by God, and when it finds joy it gurgles the praise of God. We were made to be like the sea. If the oceans are the eyes of the world and show deep into the world’s depths and those depths are terrifying and ravishing, I pray that my eyes be as full and your eyes too, and that we take the time to see what is there truly and not just some color from some distant place.

Plankton for your day.

Sparrow.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “

  1. Mary Grace

    !! inner squealing. this is so quenching to read. nopunintended.
    im encouraged.
    … the last couple sentences. “We were made to be like the sea. If the oceans are the eyes of the world and show deep into the world’s depths and those depths are terrifying and ravishing, I pray that my eyes be as full and your eyes too, and that we take the time to see what is there truly and not just some color from some distant place.”

    and so many more before that..
    its just good.

Leave a Reply

